Our Team

The Gemneo team is here for you.

A Balanced Approach

Gemneo’s founding management team represents a balanced mix of leading researchers and business acumen, and represents several decades of cumulative experience in structural DNA nanotechnology and immunology, as well as years of experience across new venture development, finance, operations, marketing and strategic alliance functions.

Meet Our Team

Gavin Chandler, CFA

Chief Executive Officer, Board Member

As a founder, Gavin served as Gemneo’s Chief Operating and Financial Officer from September of 2016 until May of 2018 when he was promoted to CEO. Gavin is a 20+ year veteran of startup company operations, business development, team building, and finance. Gavin has worked in many fields including, alternative energy, big data, consumer web products, environmental engineering, oil and gas exploration and finance, financial engineering, and biotechnology. Gavin sits on the Board of Directors of the CFA Society of Nevada.

Joseph Blattman, PhD

Chief Science Officer, Board Member

Joe is associate professor of immunology in the Center for Immunotherapy, Vaccination, and Virotherapy in the Biodesign Institute and the School of Life Sciences at ASU. Joe has authored more than 40 peer-reviewed publications and serves as a review editor for the journal Frontiers in Mucosal Immunity. He is a recipient of the ASU Centennial Professor Award, the National Institutes of Health Howard Temin Career Development Award, and the Cancer Research Institute James E. Siegel Perpetual Fellowship. Joe has been awarded over $16 million in grants for his research.

Anil Shrikhande

Advisor, Chairman

Anil has an extensive global background across general management, strategic marketing, M&A and new venture development. Anil also serves as Executive-in-Residence for ASU’s Startup program and was head of Boeing Ventures & President Boeing India and Rolls-Royce, South Asia. At Boeing, Anil managed an innovation fund to seed the creation of new ventures based on Boeing’s intellectual property portfolio. This was a catalyst for driving new inventions and patent applications and resulted in the formation of several companies in concert with external investors.

Louis Schoettle, PhD

Vice President Research & Products

Louie was recruited to ASU in 2012, where he began working for Dr. Joseph Blattman pursuing his PhD in Microbiology. Louie has accrued nearly $50,000 in grants/fellowships. Louie is a 3-year Roche/ARCS Fellowship recipient and an American Association of Immunologists Careers In Immunology Fellowship recipient. Louie is co-inventor of the Gemneo technology and is currently heading development efforts as a postdoctoral fellow in Joseph Blattman’s lab at the Biodesign Institute with financial sponsorship from Gemneo.

Hao Yan, PhD

Vice President Materials

Hao is the Milton Glick Distinguished Professor in Chemistry & Biochemistry and Director of the Center for Molecular Design at ASUs Biodesign Institute. He obtained his PhD at New York University. His areas of research focus on structural DNA nanotechnology and DNA-directed self-assembly. Hao is a member of the editorial boards of Nano Research and Nature Scientific Report and was awarded the Rozenberg Tulip Award in DNA Computing in 2013. Hao has authored more than 170 peer-reviewed publications.